University Holidays

 

List of holidays for the Calendar Year 2005 to be observed by the Administrative Offices, University Teaching/Non-Teaching Departments and Colleges affiliated to the Panjab University, Chandigarh

S.No. Name of Holiday(s) Date(s) Day(s)
1.  All Saturdays (Except in Collges*)     
2.  All Sundays    
OTHER HOLIDAYS
       
1.  Birthday of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji       January 05        Wednesday   
2.  Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) January 21 Friday
3.  Republic Day January 26 Wednesday
4.  Guru Ravi Dass Jayanti February 24 Thursday
5.  Mahashivratri March 08 Tuesday
6.  Good Friday March 25 Friday
7.  Holi March 25 Saturday
8.  Baisakhi April 13 Wednesday
9.  Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar April 14 Thursday
10.  Ram Naumi April 17 Sunday
11.  Mahavir Jayanti April 22 Friday
12.  Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji June 16 Thursday
13. Independence Day August 15 Monday
14. Janamashtami August 26 Friday
15.  Mahatama Gandhi's Birthday October 2 Sunday
16.  Dussehra October 12 Wednesday
17.  Maharishi Balmiki Ji's Birthday October 17 Monday
18.  Diwali   November 01-02    Tuesday-Wednesday
19.  Id-ul-Fitr November 4 Friday
20. Birthday of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji November 15 Tuesday
21.  Christmas Day December 25 Sunday
       

*Except for Saturdays falling in the month of May/June when the office timings are generally changed from 7:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. without lunch break.  During this period, Saturday would be observed as full working days under the order of the competent authority

 

The teaching departments (including non-teaching staff) and Administrative Offices of the University will open at 11:00 a.m. on account of Raksha Bandhan  as and when these occasions fall.